disciplines

We are all excited by the flame of the Jeux du Commerce. We are guided by our desire to surpass ourselves and to give all we have.

Academic Component

The interactive case study is a business strategy case for which teams will have a 24-hour resolution period in order to offer a rich strategy based on a thorough research of the partner and the relevant market. This case study involves a variety of knowledge, creativity and analysis skills from each participant, but above all, the ability of the team to adapt adequately to the new information as the first part of the 24-hour of the resolution is punctuated with partner interactions that could potentially lead teams to return a few steps back and redirect their strategy. Thus, the watchword is to predict the unpredictable, because the interactive case reserves to its participants several situation reversals.

In the era of globalization, the international business case study encompasses various disciplines in the field of business administration. Knowledge of markets, barriers to entry and local issues is therefore necessary to develop a relevant strategy for a company wishing to extend its activities beyond new frontiers. The international business case study therefore covers a variety of potential mandates, including targeting new markets as well as the development of distribution channels.

The accounting case study encourages students to exploit the essential skills that an accounting professional must demonstrate in terms of ethical behavior, decision-making, problem-solving, communication and Leadership. Indeed, this case study puts the student to test on a wide range of technical skills used in practice in business, in the public sector and in various other contexts. This case study can therefore address various challenges related to accounting technology, performance measurement, financial advice and even business turnaround, auditing or analysis of flows or projects. By the nature and precision of the skills exploited, this case is open for undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in the CPA-only pathway.

Wishing to bring this discipline closer to the reality of the debates held in the House of Commons, the conduct of this event is inspired by the structure in place at the Canadian Parliament. Indeed, a University is first randomly elected to occupy the role of the Government presenting a law project while a competing University is randomly elected at the opposition to present arguments against the Government’s proposal in order to prevent its adoption.

 

Topical Bills provided to universities will give way to interpretation to allow participants to elaborate their arguments in depth in the light of their knowledge and opinions on the subject. Finally, universities will have the chance to proceed to the next rounds based on the scoring given by the Panel of judges, formed with an odd number of judges, attending the debate and assigning notes based on the argument presented.

Sustainable development is part of a long-term perspective of economic growth and incorporates constraints related to the environment and the functioning of society. This event therefore bears particular attention to social, economic and environmental responsibilities, with the aim of ensuring development that responds to the present need without compromising the ability of future generations to respond to Their. A comprehensive strategy thus addresses the three central pillars of this discipline, the profits, the planet and the people.

The finance case study bridges the theory and current industry-leading practices of investment, valuation, resource allocation and acquisition. Covering various facets of finance, students solving this case study must demonstrate their mastery of many concepts and competences surrounding financial strategies and their implementation.

The taxation case study requires students to act in the public interest and to put in place a fair, efficient and efficient tax strategy addressing tax issues facing different types of companies and individuals. Therefore, can be addresses topics such as corporations per share, trusts, partnerships or even personal businesses. This case study covers various themes, including personal and corporate income tax, capital gain, attribution rules, death or donation situations, and many other specific notions related to the Canadian Tax Act. By the nature and precision of the skills exploited, this case is open for undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in the CPA-only pathway.

This discipline includes all the practices implemented to administer, mobilize and develop the human resources involved in an organization’s activities. The human resource management case study is therefore likely to address various issues such as change management, recruitment and retention of staff. Through the various strategies proposed, effective communication between franchises, unions, employers and employees remains a determining factor in the success of the solution presented by the participating team.

In 2020, the term “entrepreneurial innovation” will have a whole new meaning as the new structure will bring the contestants closer than ever to the reality of an entrepreneur. Indeed, this case study is undergoing a major restructuring as the case structure is now divided into two rounds during one stimulating day of testing. Participants will have to exploit their versatility and creativity to develop a viable and quality business plan to commercialize a new product based on their assigned budget.

Marketing management allows an organization to remain or even become competitive in its competitive world. The marketing case study therefore encourages students to develop a marketing strategy aimed at creating real value for all stakeholders of the client company. The mandate can therefore address different concepts such as segmentation, positioning, targeting and the variables of marketing mix. A thorough understanding of the interests of all stakeholders is an indispensable element in the development of a successful strategy.

The business strategy case study covers several disciplines in the field of business administration and therefore various issues are likely to be addressed. The meaning of business strategy is to understand the external environment and business model of the Organization in order to reconcile the objectives targeted by each and effectively manage internal resources in order to create one or more competitive advantages. This case study uses a variety of knowledge and more to the spirit of creativity and analysis skills of each participant. The synergy of various specializations in a strong strategy is a central and decisive element for success.

Organisational information systems consist of all the knowledge, techniques and tools that ensure data management and security. More specifically, this system is expected to be built, organized, finalized and controlled in order to ultimately represent a means of optimizing the Organization’s performance.

 

The OIS case study thus tests participants to know whether the technological strategy suggested by their team will adequately support the Organization through its operations. In this manner, several issues may be addressed such as the reengineering of business processes, the implementation of an ERP (enterprise resource planning) or the implementation of a CRM (customer relationship management).

Social component

The social component is a multitude of activities of all kinds that will take place throughout the weekend in order to test the participants and thus determine who are the most social! First, what is a «socialeux»? It is a person who likes to get out of his comfort zone and to work as a team! The interuniversity spirit is a very big part of this, since all delegates are part of the social family. The spirit of collaboration and communication are therefore essential in this component.

In 2020, the goal is to share the power of experience! This is why the social component will be more dynamic than ever with more public events. The goal is to get people aware of this component which is often misunderstood by some participants of the competition. The social love will be shared with everyone and more people will be involved in the big social family. In 2020, it will be an increasingly relevant social component, which will require the delegates to face the unexpected while being creative and imaginative. The commerce games will focus on that narrative during the next edition to be held at HEC Montréal.

Sports component

Fistball

Fistball

German variant of volleyball where teams have 5 players on the field each and try to force the opponent to make a fault. The ball can only be played with the arm or with a closed fist. To send the ball to the opponent side, teams must make 3 ball contacts or less and the ball may touch the ground between each contact.

Hockey bottine

Hockey bottine

Hockey cosom is played on the snow in boots or sports shoes. Each team has 4 players on the field at the same time in addition to a goalkeeper. To score, teams have to put the ball in the goal of the opponent.

disciplines

Nous sommes tous habités par la flamme des Jeux du Commerce. Guidés par notre volonté de se dépasser et de se donner corps et âme.

VOLET ACADÉMIQUE

Le cas interactif est un cas de stratégie d’affaires pour lequel les équipes auront 24h de résolution de sorte à offrir une stratégie riche et fondée sur une recherche approfondie du partenaire et du marché concerné. Cette épreuve fait appel à des connaissances variées, à l’esprit de créativité et d’analyse de chaque participant, mais surtout à la capacité de ce dernier à s’adapter adéquatement aux nouvelles informations comme la première portion du 24h de l’épreuve est ponctuée d’interactions avec le partenaire pouvant potentiellement mener les équipes à revenir quelques pas en arrières et rediriger leur stratégie. Cela dit, le mot d’ordre est de prévoir l’imprévisible, car le cas interactif réserve à ses participants plusieurs revirements de situation.

À l’ère de la mondialisation, l’épreuve de commerce international englobe diverses disciplines du domaine de l’administration des affaires. Une connaissance des marchés, des barrières à l’entrée ainsi que des enjeux locaux est donc nécessaire à l’élaboration d’une stratégie pertinente pour une entreprise désirant étendre ses activités au-delà de nouvelles frontières. L’épreuve de commerce international couvre donc une variété de mandats potentiels adressant notamment le ciblage de nouveaux marchés ainsi que le développement de canaux de distribution.

L’épreuve de comptabilité incite les étudiants à exploiter les habiletés essentielles dont un professionnel comptable doit faire preuve en matière de comportement ethnique, de prise de décisions, de résolution de problèmes, de communication et de leadership. En effet, ce cas met en valeur un large éventail de compétences techniques pratiquées en cabinet, en entreprise, dans le secteur public et dans divers autres contextes. Peuvent ainsi être abordés différents défis en lien avec la technique comptable, la mesure de performance, les conseils financiers et même le redressement d’entreprise, la vérification ou encore l’analyse des flux ou de projets. Par la nature et la précision des compétences exploitées, ce cas s’adresse aux étudiants du premier cycle et ceux du deuxième cycle inscrits au cheminement CPA seulement.

Désirant rapprocher cette épreuve de la réalité des débats se tenant à la Chambre des Communes, le déroulement de cette épreuve est inspiré de la structure en place au Parlement Canadien. En effet, une université est d’abord élue au hasard afin d’occuper le rôle du gouvernement présentant un projet de loi alors qu’une université concurrente est élue au hasard à l’opposition présentant des arguments contre le gouvernement afin d’y empêcher l’adoption.

 

Des projets de loi d’actualité fournis aux universités laisseront place à interprétation de sorte à permettre aux participants d’élaborer en profondeur leur argumentaire à la lumière de leurs connaissances et opinions sur le sujet. Finalement, certaines universités auront la chance de procéder aux rondes suivantes en fonction du pointage accordé par le panel de juges, au nombre impair, assistant au débat et attribuant des notes fondées sur l’argumentaire présenté.

Le développement durable s’inscrit dans une perspective long terme de la croissance économique et intègre des contraintes liées à l’environnement et au fonctionnement de la société. Cette épreuve porte donc une attention particulière aux responsabilités sociales, économiques et environnementales, le but étant d’assurer un développement qui répond aux besoins présents sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures de répondre aux leurs. Une stratégie complète aborde donc les trois piliers centraux de cette discipline, soient les profits, la planète et le peuple.

Le cas de finance fait un pont entre la théorie et les pratiques de pointe actuelles de l’industrie en matière d’investissement, d’évaluation, d’allocation des ressources et d’acquisition. Couvrant ainsi diverses facettes de la finance, les étudiants participant à cette épreuve doivent démontrer leur maîtrise de nombreux concepts et compétences entourant les stratégies financières et leur mise en œuvre.

L’épreuve de fiscalité requiert des étudiants d’agir dans l’intérêt public et de mettre en place une stratégie fiscale équitable, efficace et efficiente adressant des problématiques fiscales auxquelles sont confrontées différents types de sociétés et des particuliers. Il peut ici être question de sociétés par actions, de fiducies, de sociétés de personnes ou même d’entreprises personnelles. Ce cas couvre donc différents thèmes, notamment l’impôt des particuliers et des sociétés, le gain en capital, les règles d’attribution, les situations de décès ou de dons ainsi que nombreuses autres notions spécifiques liées à la loi de l’impôt canadienne. Par la nature et la précision des compétences exploitées, ce cas s’adresse aux étudiants du premier cycle et ceux du deuxième cycle inscrits au cheminement CPA seulement.

Cette discipline regroupe l’ensemble des pratiques mises en œuvre pour administrer, mobiliser et développer les ressources humaines impliquées dans les activités d’une organisation. L’épreuve de gestion des ressources humaines est donc susceptible d’aborder différents enjeux tels la gestion du changement, le recrutement ainsi que la rétention du personnel. Au travers les différentes stratégies proposées, une communication efficace entre franchises, syndicats, employeurs et employés demeure un facteur déterminant au succès de la solution présentée par l’équipe participante.

En 2020, l’expression «innovation entrepreneuriale» prendra tout son sens grâce à une nouvelle formule rapprochant plus que jamais les participants au monde des affaires. En effet, cette épreuve connaît une restructuration majeure se divisant dorénavant en deux rondes au cours d’une journée stimulante d’épreuve. Les participants devront exploiter leur polyvalence et leur créativité afin d’élaborer un plan d’affaires viable et de qualité permettant de procéder à la commercialisation d’un nouveau produit en fonction du budget leur étant attribué.

La gestion du marketing permet à une organisation de demeurer ou même devenir compétitive dans son univers concurrentiel. C’est ainsi que l’épreuve de marketing incite les étudiants à élaborer une stratégie marketing visant à créer une réelle valeur pour l’ensemble des parties prenantes de l’entreprise cliente. Le mandat peut donc aborder différents concepts tels la segmentation, le positionnement, le ciblage ainsi que les variables du marketing mix. Une compréhension approfondie des intérêts de l’ensemble des parties prenantes représente un élément indispensable à l’élaboration d’une stratégie réussie.

L’épreuve de stratégie regroupe plusieurs disciplines du domaine de l’administration des affaires et donc diverses problématiques sont susceptibles d’être abordées. En effet, la stratégie d’entreprise consiste à comprendre l’environnement externe et le modèle d’affaires de l’organisation afin de concilier les objectifs visés par chacun et gérer efficacement les ressources internes dans le but de créer un ou plusieurs avantages compétitifs. Cette étude de cas fait appel à des connaissances variées ainsi qu’à l’esprit de créativité et d’analyse de chaque participant. La synergie de diverses spécialisations en une stratégie forte est un élément central et déterminant à la réussite.

Les systèmes d’informations organisationnels sont constitués de l’ensemble des connaissances, des techniques et des outils assurant la gestion des données et leur sécurité. Plus spécifiquement, il est attendu de ce système qu’il soit construit, organisé, finalisé et contrôlé afin de ultimement représenter un moyen d’optimisation de la performance de l’organisation.

 

L’épreuve de SIO met ainsi les participants au test à savoir si la stratégie technologique suggérée par l’équipe saura supporter adéquatement l’organisation à travers ses opérations. Ainsi, plusieurs enjeux peuvent possiblement être abordés tels la réingénierie des processus d’affaires, l’implantation d’un ERP (enterprise resource planning) ou l’implantation d’un CRM (customer relationship management).

VOLET SOCIAL

Le volet social, c’est une multitude d’activités de tous genres qui auront lieu tout au long de la fin de semaine afin de mettre les participants à l’épreuve et ainsi, déterminer qui sont les plus socialeux! D’abord, qu’est-ce qu’un socialeux? C’est une personne qui aime sortir de sa zone de confort et travailler en équipe! L’esprit interuniversitaire est une très grande partie de ce volet, car tous les délégués forment une famille. L’esprit de collaboration et la communication sont donc essentiels dans ce volet.

En 2020, l’objectif est de transmettre le pouvoir de l’expérience! C’est pourquoi le volet social sera plus dynamique que jamais avec plus d’épreuves ouvertes au public. Le but est de faire connaître ce volet qui est souvent incompris auprès de certains participants de la compétition. Le social love sera partagé avec tous et plus de gens seront impliqués dans la grande famille du social. En 2020, ce sera un volet social toujours plus pertinent, qui demandera aux délégués de faire face aux imprévus tout en étant créatifs et imaginatifs. C’est sur cette ligne directrice que le volet social s’orientera pour les Jeux du Commerce à HEC Montréal.

VOLET SPORTIF

Variante allemande du volleyball où les équipes ont 5 joueurs sur le terrain et tentent de faire faire une faute à l’autre équipe. Le ballon ne peut être joué qu’avec un bras ou un poing fermé. Pour envoyer le ballon du côté de l’adversaire, les équipes doivent faire 3 contacts de ballon ou moins et peuvent laisser le ballon faire un bon au sol entre chaque contact.

Hockey Cosom joué sur la neige en bottes ou souliers de sport. Chaque équipe dispose de 4 joueurs sur le terrain en plus d’un gardien de but. L’objectif est de mettre la balle dans le but de l’adversaire pour marquer un but.